Physics Faculty

Dr. B.J. Bateman

Dr. B.J. Bateman
Lecturer (Retired Professor) of Physics
Troy University
312 B McCall Hall (MSCX)
Troy, AL 36082
bbateman@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-670 3572

Dr. Bateman did his graduate work at Texas A&M in cosmic radiation. While at Troy he worked four Summers at Argonne National Lab. He participated in the NASA Jove project, doing research at the Marshall Space Flight Center in Huntsville, Al with the space plasma group. He is currently involved in full time teaching.

 

Dr. Maurice Clark

Dr. Maurice Clark
Assistant Professor of Astronomy
Troy University
312 I McCall Hall (MSCX)
Troy, AL 36082
maclark@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-808-6688
spectrum.troy.edu/astronomy/

 

Dr. Grady A. Gambrel

Dr. Grady A. Gambrel
Lecturer of Physics
Troy University
215 McCall Hall (MSCX)
Troy, AL 36082
ggambrel@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-808-6277

I earned my Ph.D. from The Ohio State University where I conducted scanning tunneling microscopy experiments in the research group of Professor Jay A. Gupta. Teaching college physics was my goal throughout graduate school, and I am excited to have the opportunity to teach both introductory and upper-level courses here at Troy.

 

Dr. Quratulann Ijaz

Dr. Quratulann Ijaz
Lecturer
Troy University
312 J McCall Hall (MSCX)
Troy, AL 36082
qijaz@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-808-6555

Dr. Ijaz received her PhD in Engineering Physics from the Bagley College of Engineering at Mississippi State University in Dec 2011. She has been studying gamma-ray spectroscopy resulting from nuclei at high spin states.

 

Dr. Govind Menon (Chair)

Dr. Govind Menon (Chair)
Director, School of Science and Technology
Chair, Department of Chemistry and Physics
Troy University
315 McCall (MSCX)
Troy, AL 36082
gmenon@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-670-3924
spectrum.troy.edu/gmenon/

My primary field of research is in the area of General Relativity. I am currently trying to understand the nature of the central engine that produces jets in supermassive black holes.

 

Dr. James Sanders

Dr. James Sanders
Assistant Professor of Physics
Troy University
312 McCall Hal (MSCX) 
Troy, AL 36082
jcsanders@troy.edu
Telephone: 1-334-670-3571

 

Dr. Rajintha Tiskumara

Dr. Rajintha Tiskumara
Lecturer of Physics (Troy/Dothan)
Troy University
Everett Hall 114
Dothan, AL 36303
rtiskumara@troy.edu
Telephone: 334-983-6556 (X 1-388)

I received my Ph.D. in Electrical & Computer Engineering (2016) and MS degree in Physics (2013) from Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA. I obtained my BS degree in Physics from University of Peradeniya, Sri Lanka.

 

Dr. Eugene Omasta

Dr. Eugene Omasta
Professor Emeritus of Physics
gene.kathy@troycable.net