Fall 2009
Summer 2009
International Flavor
Trojan Territory
Chapter News
Chancellor Hawkins to lead Sun Belt Executive Committee

Troy University Chancellor Jack Hawkins, Jr., has been named president of the Sun Belt Conference Executive Committee.

Dr. Hawkins will serve in the position through the end of the 2009-10 academic year. His term is eligible for renewal at the league meeting in May 2010.

The change comes after former Florida Atlantic and Sun Belt Conference Executive Committee President Frank T. Brogan left FAU to become the Chancellor of the Florida University System.  

Dr. Hawkins had been serving as the committee’s vice president since May of 2008 and had also previously served as the at-large representative. 

“It is an honor to serve as president of the Sun Belt Conference Executive Committee," said Dr. Hawkins. “Our universities owe a debt of gratitude to Frank Brogan for his exemplary service in this role. He leaves big shoes to fill. Likewise, the Sun Belt Conference enjoys outstanding leadership from Commissioner Waters and his staff and the conference is headed in the right direction. I believe the best is yet to come for the conference and its member institutions.”

“I firmly believe that the Executive Committee that we have in place is determined to lead the Sun Belt Conference to new heights,” said Sun Belt Commissioner Wright Waters.

Troy University Magazine
Troy University
Alumni Affairs Office
Troy, AL 36082