Page 31 - Mag Fall 2011

This is a SEO version of Mag Fall 2011. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
The Montgomery Metro
Alumni Chapter held its
annual kickoff celebration in
July featuring comments from
Troy University Director of
Athletics Steve Dennis and
head football Coach Larry
The event, held July 14 at
Arrowhead Country Club in
Montgomery, also featured
a barbecue dinner, drawings
for door prizes and a silent
Dennis addressed the group
about the state of TROY
athletics, including the
ongoing construction of the
new Trojan Arena and future
projects, and encouraged the
group to continue to help
the programs grow through
support of the Trojan
Warriors and Alumni Associa-
tions’ 110% Club. Through
the membership campaign,
participants can join both the
TROY Alumni Association
and the Trojan Warriors
program for $110.
Coach Blakeney offered a
preview of the upcoming
football season and encour-
aged chapter members to
come out to support the team
not only during home games
at Veterans Memorial Stadium
but also when the team goes
on the road. The Trojans,
who have won or shared the
Sun Belt Conference title
the last fve seasons, were
picked to fnish second in the
conference this season during
conference media days.
Montgomery Metro Chapter holds
annual kickoff event
(inset) Alamo State Chapter – The Alamo State Alumni Chapter held a meeting
and social event on July 30, fol lowing the Universit y’s commencement ceremony
at the San Antonio Site. During the ceremony, the Chapter was presented with
the “New Chapter of the Year Award” by Dr. Louis Fletcher, director of TROY’s
Western Region. Left to right are: Ava LaChance, chapter membership and schol-
arship chairperson; Bi l l Gayton, secretary/historian; and Laura Garza, assistant
director of the San Antonio Site. Keith D. Sauls is the chapter’s president.
(top) Montgomery Metro Chapter Board members with Coach Blakeney from
left to right: Sam Whalum, Greg Wi lkes, Isaiah Sankey, Blakeney, David Batson,
Jenifer White, David Gi l l iand, Johnny Weatherford and Todd Mote.