Page 5 - Summer Alumni Magazine 2012

Basic HTML Version

TROY Magazine
Two Troy University alumni were among the three inductees
into the University’s Alabama Educational Leadership Hall of
Fame during a recent ceremony on the Troy Campus.
Former Association of School Boards President Robert Lane
and retired Alabama High School Athletic Association Executive
Director Daniel Washburn joined past State Superintendent of
Education Dr. Joe Morton in the class of inductees. The group
was inducted by Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Chancellor, and Dr. Lance
Tatum, Vice Chancellor of Global Campus and former Dean of
the College of Education.
A 24-year member of the Lowndes County Board of
Education, Lane (1989) served as the 22nd president of the
Alabama Association of School Boards and served eight years
as a member of the National School Boards Association Board
of Directors. He is the third Alabamian to serve on the NSBA
board and is the second of three African-Americans to serve as
AASB president. Retired from the U.S. Navy, Lane also served a
stint as district office manager for former U.S. Rep. Earl Hilliard.
Washburn (1978) retired as executive director of the Alabama
High School Athletic Association in 2007 after 16 years in the
post. He began his education career as a high school teacher and
coach at Lanett and Prattville high schools for 21 years, followed
by eight years as superintendent in Lanett City Schools. He
served as National Federation of State High School Associations
president in 2005-2006, and established as a requirement
for eligibility the STAR Sportsmanship initiative, which has
registered more than 175,000 students, coaches, officials and
parents in the state since 2007.
The Hall of Fame was established in 1982 to recognize, by
cooperative effort of Troy University, the Alabama Association
of Schools Boards and the Council for Leaders in Alabama
Schools, outstanding leaders and to establish and maintain a Hall
of Fame to permanently record their achievements. Portraits
of the members hang inside Hawkins Hall, the home to the
University’s College of Education.
Alumni among Educational Leadership Hall of Fame class
Left to right, TROY Chancellor Jack Hawkins, Jr., inductees Dr. Joe Morton, Robert Lane, Daniel Washburn
and Dr. Lance Tatum, Vice Chancellor of Global Campus and former Dean of the College of Education.