Spring 2011
Spring 2011
International Flavor
Trojan Territory
Chapter News
Bryant named to Golden Spikes Award watch list

Troy University senior shortstop Adam Bryant was one of 50 players named to USA Baseball’s preseason Golden Spikes Award watch list, making him the only player from a Sun Belt Conference team to be included.

The list, which was announced on the eve of the 2011 college baseball season, marks the organization’s first step toward identifying the top amateur baseball player in the country.

Bryant of Pensacola, Fla., hit .356 with 23 homers and 65 RBI in 2010 and was a finalist for the Brooks Wallace Award, which goes to the top shortstop in college baseball.

In addition to his offensive production, Bryant also led all college shortstops with a .990 fielding percentage in 2010.

Sponsored by Major League Baseball, the Golden Spikes Award will be presented in 2011 for the 34th time. The Watch List features 50 of the nation’s top amateur players, and it will be a “rolling” list to ensure that athletes can play themselves into consideration for the Golden Spikes Award.

Following the release of a second, 60-player Watch List to be named on May 3, USA Baseball officials will announce to the 30 semifinalists for the 2011 Golden Spikes Award on May 31. The list of 30 will then be sent to a voting body consisting of select professional baseball personnel, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of media that closely follow the amateur game and current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of nearly 200 voters in total.

Fan voting will once again be a part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2011. College baseball fans will be able to cast their vote for their favorite player for the Golden Spikes Award beginning on May 31, at GoldenSpikesAward.com.  As part of this selection process all voters will be asked to choose five players from the list of 30 names.  On June 7, USA Baseball will announce the five finalists, and voting will once again commence that same day.

The 2011 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award will be presented July 11 on an award show via telecast from Phoenix on GoldenSpikesAward.com, USABaseball.com and MLB.com in conjunction with All-Star FanFest.

Past winners of the award include: Terry Francona (1980), Will Clark (1985), Robin Ventura (1988), Jason Varitek (1994), J.D. Drew (1997), Mark Prior (2001), Jered Weaver (2004), Tim Lincecum (2006), David Price (2007), Buster Posey (2008) and Stephen Strasburg (2009).

Troy University Magazine
Troy University
Alumni Affairs Office
Troy, AL 36082