Page 16 - Summer Alumni Magazine 2012

Basic HTML Version

TROY Magazine
Ralph Adams became President of Troy State College in 1964 and remained the University’s chief
executive for 25 years before retiring in 1989. Under his administration, Troy State achieved university
status and more than doubled its enrollment. At letically, TROY won the NAIA national championship in
football in 1968, a pair of NCAA Division II football championships (1984 and 1987), two NCAA Division
II baseball titles (1986 & 1987) and numerous NCAA Division II national titles in golf and track & field.
Adams passed away on May 13, 1998.
Billy Atkins coached the Troy State football team for six seasons from 1966 to 1971 and led the Red Wave
to the 1968 NAIA national championship. Atkins also led TSU to three Alabama Collegiate Conference
championships (1967-68-69), and his 44 career victories rank as the second most in U iver ity history. He
was the two-time NAIA District 27 Coach of the Year (1967-68) and was the NAIA National Coach of the
Year in 1968. He served in the dual role of football coach and athletic director from 1969 to 1971.
A 2009 inductee into the Alabama Sports Hall of Fame, Larry Blakeney has been at the forefront of the
move of the Troy University football program from the ranks of Division II, through Division I-AA and
into Division I-A. In the spring of 2011, the playing surface at Veterans Memorial Stadium was named in
his honor. Blakeney has led TROY to eight conference championships, including five straight Sun Belt titles
(2006-10) and has coached 61 players that have gone on to play professional football. Blakeney has guided
the Trojans to 15 winning seasons, including six seasons of 10 wins or more, and he currently stands fourth
among all college coaches to have manned a sideline in the state of Alabama with 164 victories. Blakeney
has guided the Trojans to five bowl game appearances. His 21 seasons on the sideline in TROY make him
the third longest tenured coach at the Football Bowl Subdivision level.