Drs. Newton, Richardson inducted into Alabama Educational Leadership Hall of Fame

Posted: Tuesday, 12 September 2007

MONTGOMERY—Two educators were inducted today into the Alabama Educational Leadership Hall of Fame at Troy University in a ceremony held in the Old Archives Rooms at the State Capitol.

Dr. J. Larry Newton, former Superintendent of Baldwin County Schools, and Dr. Ed Richardson, former State Superintendent of Education and former interim President of Auburn University, became the latest members of the Hall of Fame, which is located on the Troy University Campus.

“What an honor it is to be recognized for doing what you love and doing it so well, and I congratulate Dr. Ed Richardson and Dr. Larry Newton on their induction into the Educational Leadership Hall of Fame,” Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Chancellor of Troy University, said. “Troy University is honored to serve as home of the Educational Leadership Hall of Fame.”

Dr. Faron Hollinger, Superintendent for Baldwin County Schools, presented Dr. Newton for induction and Dr. Joe Morton, Superintendent of Education, presented Dr. Richardson for induction. Dr. Lance Tatum, Dean of Troy University’s College of Education, served as master of ceremonies for the induction ceremony. Dr. James Kimbrough, former Dean of Education at TROY who played an instrumental role in the founding of the Hall of Fame, delivered the invocation.

“To be recognized in this fashion is a humbling experience for me,” Dr. Newton said. “I received many accolades throughout my career, but to be honored on the basis of your entire career far outweighs any other recognition. It has been my honor to have the support of my family and wonderful people to work with throughout the years. This honor is as much theirs as it is mine.”

“I am pleased and humbled to accept this distinguished honor,” Dr. Richardson said. “I commend Troy University for its history of preparing quality teachers and educational leaders. Throughout my career I have served from teacher to the position of college president and I can tell you that the problems faced were basically the same. As educators we must not allow one student to miss the opportunity to be highly educated. As a state we must re-double our efforts to make sure that we focus on education of all of our students.”

The Hall of Fame was established in 1982, by the Troy University Board of Trustees under the authority of the Legislature of the State of Alabama. Its purpose is to recognize by cooperative effort of Troy University, the Alabama Association of School Boards, and the Council for Leaders in Alabama Schools outstanding leaders and to establish and maintain a Hall of Fame to permanently record their achievements. To date, 35 honorees have been enshrined in the Hall of Fame, including Dr. Newton and Dr. Richardson.

A native of Butler County, Dr. Newton served as superintendent of Baldwin County Schools from 1985-98. He received his undergraduate degree from Troy University, his master’s degree from Auburn University and AA certification from the University of Alabama. He was awarded an honorary doctorate in 1994 by the University of Mobile. His teaching, coaching and administrative career began at Jordan Vocational High School in Columbus, GA and included service at Davidson and Vigor high schools in Mobile County. He served as deputy superintendent of the Mobile County School System from 1976-85.

Dr. Richardson served as interim President of Auburn University from 2004-2007. He was State Superintendent of Education from 1995 until 2004 and superintendent of the Auburn School System from 1982 until 1995. Dr. Richardson began his career in education as a teacher in the Montgomery School System in 1964, and was principal of Cloverdale School in Montgomery and Andalusia High School. Dr. Richardson earned his bachelor of science in science education at Auburn University in 1962, his master of educational administration from Auburn in 1967 and his doctorate in education from Auburn in 1972.