Troy University Dothan Campus Advisory Council holds first meeting

Posted: Thursday, 04 December 2008

DOTHAN – A new Troy University advisory council will help focus attention on the University’s Dothan Campus.

The council, which held its inaugural meeting Dec. 2 on the Dothan Campus, is comprised of Wiregrass-area business and community leaders, said Dr. Don Jeffrey, the campus’ vice chancellor.

“These are influential, entrepreneurial people who have already dignified themselves by great leadership and they have graciously agreed to come and share their experience as we grow a better university, a better city and a better Wiregrass,” Jeffrey said.

The mission of the Dothan Campus Advisory Council will be to provide advice, guidance, support and advocacy for the Dothan campus.

“The council will help us to identify needs in the community, identify potential donors and most of all, be advocates for the University,” said Dr. Jean Laliberte, TROY’s associate vice chancellor for development.

The group’s input will be vital in helping the Dothan campus better serve the Wiregrass region, Jeffrey said.

“They have their hands on the pulse of the community,” Jeffery said.

During the group’s first meeting, Davis Malone, of the law firm Farmer, Farmer and Malone, was selected as chairman of the committee. Steve Shaw, of Couch Ready Mix, was named vice chairman.

The committee is expected to meet at least biannually. Similar advisory committees are being formed for TROY’s Montgomery and Phenix City campuses.

Advisory Committee members include:

Ex Officio

  • Mayor Pat Thomas, City of Dothan

  • Mayor Wes Etheredge, City of Daleville

  • Mayor Kenneth Boswell, City of Enterprise

  • Mayor Billy Blackwell, City of Ozark

  • Mr. Mark Culver, Houston County Commission

Advisory Members

  • Mr. Vince Edge, Wiregrass Foundation

  • Mr. Mike Schmitz, Mike Schmitz Automotive

  • Mr. Ron Owen, Southeast Alabama Medical Center

  • Ms. Velma Tribue, State Farm Insurance

  • Mr. Hugh Wheelless, Wheelless Development Corporation

  • Mr. Matt Parker, Dothan Area Chamber of Commerce

  • Mr. Davis Malone, Farmer, Farmer & Malone

  • Mr. Thomas Bedsole, Jackson Thornton Company

  • Mr. Keith Granger, Flowers Hospital

  • Mr. Lamar Brooks, Regions Bank

  • Mr. Charles Owens, Construction Partners, Inc.

  • Ms. Dawn Theune

  • Mr. Steve Shaw, Couch Ready Mix

  • Mr. Ronnie Gilley, Ronnie Gilley Properties

  • Mr. Alan Clark, DSI Security Services
Laylah Amatullah Barrayn

Members of the Troy University Dothan Campus Advisory Council and TROY officials pose together following the council’s first meeting on Dec. 2. Pictured from left to right are: (front row) Davis Malone, Farmer, Farmer & Malone; Velma Tribue, State Farm Insurance; Steve Shaw, Couch Ready Mix, Dr. Don Jeffrey; (second row) Mayor Wes Etheredge, City of Daleville; Hugh Wheelless, Wheelless Development Corporation; Alan Clark, DSI Security Services; Vince Edge, Wiregrass Foundation; Mayor Pat Thomas, City of Dothan; Dr. John Schmidt, Senior Vice Chancellor for Advancement and External Relations; Mike Schmitz, Mike Schmitz Automotive; Mark Culver, Houston County Commission; (third row) Keith Granger, Flowers Hospital; Charles Owens, Construction Partners, Inc.; Thomas Bedsole, Jackson Thornton Company; Ron Owen, Southeast Alabama Medical Center; Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Troy University Chancellor; (back row) Matt Parker, Dothan Area Chamber of Commerce and Mayor Billy Blackwell, City of Ozark. Not Pictured are: Mr. Ronnie Gilley, Ronnie Gilley Properties; Dawn Theune; Lamar Brooks, Regions Bank; and Mayor Kenneth Boswell, City of Enterprise. (TROY photo/Cass Davis)

Laylah Amatullah Barrayn

Troy University Chancellor Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., seated at the head of the table, speaks to members of the TROY Dothan Campus Advisory Council during the group’s first meeting on Dec. 2 in Dothan. (TROY photo/Cass Davis)