Troy University professor selected as Lowell Mason Fellow

Posted: Tuesday, 31 March 2009

TROY, Ala. – Dr. Larry Blocher, director of the John M. Long School of Music at Troy University, has been selected as a Lowell Mason Fellow by the National Association for Music Education (MENC).

The award, named for the co-founder of the Boston Academy of Music, is given to those who have made significant contributions to music education and includes a certificate and a medallion. Since the inception of the Fellows award in 2002, fewer than 100 recipients have been selected.

In addition, Dr. Blocher will have his name added to the Fellows window at the MENC National Headquarters in Reston, Va.

The award will be presented on June 18 in Washington, D.C. during Music Education Week.

“I am honored and humbled to be included among those selected to be a Lowell Mason Fellow,” Dr. Blocher said. “The current membership of Fellows includes many of the finest music educators in the country. I am proud to represent TROY University as a new Lowell Mason Fellow.”

In addition to his administrative responsibilities, Dr. Blocher serves as an associate conductor with the University bands, and teaches undergraduate and graduate music education courses.

Dr. Blocher received his bachelor’s of music education and master’s of music education and performance degrees from Morehead State University in Kentucky, and his Ph.D. in music education from Florida State University. He has previously served as: associate director of the School of Music, associate director of bands and director of music education at Wichita State University; assistant director of bands and coordinator of music education at Morehead State University; chair of music education at Syracuse University; and assistant director of bands at the University of Dayton.

Dr. Blocher is a past president of the Kansas Bandmasters Association, a member of the National Band Association School Reform and Research committees, and a past member of the Editorial Committee for the Music Educator’s Journal (MEJ). In 2005, he received both the Outstanding Bandmaster and the Outstanding Contributor to Bands awards from the Kansas Bandmaster Association.