Local leaders to serve on TROY Montgomery Campus Advisory Council

Posted: Monday, 13 July 2009

MONTGOMERY—A new advisory council composed of local business and community leaders will help provide guidance and support to Troy University’s Montgomery Campus.

The Montgomery Campus Advisory Council held its inaugural meeting on Monday, July 13. TROY Chancellor Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr. told council members they will help in developing a collective vision for the future of TROY and the role it plays in strengthening the community.

“This is an opportunity for us to hear from you who are considered to be some of this community’s top leaders,” Hawkins said.

The council will provide advice, guidance, support and advocacy for the Montgomery Campus as TROY works to better serve the region.

“The Advisory Council will be an important link between Troy University and the citizens of the Tri-County area,” said Ray White, Vice Chancellor of the Montgomery Campus. “The council members will help us identify the varied interests and educational needs of citizens in this region.”

Last fall, a similar advisory council was formed for TROY’s Dothan Campus and another is planned for the Phenix City Campus.

Members of the Montgomery Campus Advisory Council are:
Mayor Jim Byard, City of Prattville
Ms. Cheryl Carter, Leadership Montgomery
Mr. Kenny Coleman, Alabama Power Company
Mr. Arthur DuCote, Regions Bank
Mr. Jim Farrior, The Colonial Insurance Company
Mr. Ty Fondren, AT&T
Mr. Randy George, Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce
Mr. Donald Henderson, Jackson Hospital
Mr. Daniel Hughes, Summit, America LLC
Ms. Elmore Inscoe, Montgomery
Mr. Mike Jenkins, Jenkins Brick Company
Mr. Charles Jinright, Jinright Turner Insurance
Mr. Jake Kyser, Kyser Builders
Mr. Greg McClellan, Max Credit Union
Mr. Bruce Murphy, Maxwell, AFB
Mr. Richard Neal, Hyundai Motor Manufacturing
Mr. Ken Selvaggi, WSFA
Ms. Shannon Speir, Montgomery Area Chamber of Commerce Board
Mayor Todd Strange, City of Montgomery
Mr. Russell Tyner, Baptist Health