TROY history honor society inducts new members

Posted: Tuesday, 15 December 2009

DOTHAN—Eight students at Troy University’s Dothan Campus were recently inducted into the Phi Alpha Theta history honor society.

The new members were welcomed during a ceremony on Sunday, Dec. 6. The inductees were:

  • Richard St. John of Dothan
  • Carson Clark of Dothan
  • Christina Robinson of Dothan
  • Cody Carpenter of Dothan
  • Danielle Wood of Eufaula
  • Rebecca Johnson of Dothan
  • Sarah Newman of Dothan
  • Seth A. Hardy of Dothan

Phi Alpha Theta was founded at the University of Arkansas in 1921 and extends membership to university students who exceed minimum qualifications. The Iota-Mu chapter, housed at TROY, requires that a student hold a 3.1 cumulative GPA and a 3.25 GPA in more than 12 hours of history classes. Students do not have to be history majors to become members.

Dr. Alan Belsches, associate dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, gave a keynote address and accepted an engraved clock from the faculty at the event.

Dr. Robert Saunders, Dr. Martin Olliff, Dr. Richard Martin, Dr. Mike Holmes, and Dr. Elizabeth McMullen, all faculty members at the Dothan Campus, participated in the initiation ceremony.

Dr. Larry E. DiChiara

On Sunday, Dec. 6, eight students from Troy University’s Dothan Campus were inducted into the Phi Alpha Theta history honor society. Pictured left to right are: Richard St. John, Carson Clark, Christina Robinson, Cody Carpenter, Danielle Wood, Rebecca Johnson, Sarah Newman, History Department Chair Dr. Robert Saunders and Faculty Advisor Dr. Martin Olliff. Not pictured is new member Seth A. Hardy. (TROY photo)