Charles Nailen reappointed to TROY Board of Trustees

Posted: Thursday, 08 April 2010

TROY—Dothan businessman Charles Nailen has been reappointed to the Troy University Board of Trustees by Gov. Bob Riley.

The Alabama Senate approved Nailen’s appointment by a 24-0 vote this week. Nailen has served on the Board of Trustees since 2003, when he was appointed to an at-large post by Gov. Riley. He serves on the board’s finance committee and the academic affairs committee and is a director of the Troy University Foundation. He will serve a 12-year term on the board.

“Troy University has benefited greatly from Charles Nailen’s leadership on the Board of Trustees, especially in the area of development,” said Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Chancellor. “He was also instrumental in the board’s decision two years ago to raise admission standards, which has made TROY a stronger University.”

Nailen and his wife, Kay, are owners of BBG Specialty Foods, Inc. – a franchise of Taco Bell Corporation, and GGG Foods, Inc. – a franchise of KFC Corporation. They currently operate restaurants in Alabama, Georgia, and Florida.

Nailen is a member of the Dothan Area Chamber of Commerce, Chairman of the Friends of Fort Rucker Task Force, Board and Executive Committee member of the Army Aviation Museum Foundation, Inc., member of the Association of the United States Army, board member of the Dothan-Houston County Airport Authority and the Business Council of Alabama.

Nailen has received numerous awards throughout his career, among them were the Friend of Education Award, presented by the Dothan Education Association, the Small Business Person of the Year Award, presented by the Dothan Area Chamber of Commerce, the Franchise Leadership Award, presented by Taco Bell Corporation, the Community Service Award, presented by Troy University, and the Outstanding Regional Advisory Committee Chairman Award, presented by the Business Council of Alabama.

The TROY board is composed of 13 members who serve by gubernatorial appointment. In addition, Gov. Riley and Superintendent of Education Joe Morton serve on the board in ex-officio status by virtue of their positions, and the Student Government Association President is a non-voting member of the board. The University Chancellor serves as secretary of the board.