Troy University’s Atlanta Site to award degrees on Dec. 18

Posted: Monday, 06 December 2010

ATLANTA—Troy University’s Atlanta Site will hold its fall 2010 graduation ceremony at Cobb Galleria Centre at 11 a.m. on Dec. 18.

As many as 100 degrees are expected to be awarded during the ceremony.

Paul D. Barnes, regional director of Social Security Administration, will deliver the keynote address for the ceremony.

Born in Tennessee, Barnes graduated Magna Cum Laude from Lane College in Jackson, Tenn. and in 2009 was selected as one of the university’s “Top 100 graduates” in school history. Barnes also earned a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from the University of Southern California, and is a graduate of Harvard University’s Senior Managers in Government Program. As a member of the Senior Executive Service, he has received awards in recognition of his excellence in public service from three Presidents.

As Regional Commissioner, Barnes is responsible for administering the Social Security and Supplemental Security Income Programs in Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The Atlanta Region consists of more than 250 facilities, approximately 13,000 employees, serves a population of approximately 57 million citizens and pays monthly benefits that exceed $12 billion.

In 2009, Barnes was the recipient of a National Combined Federal Campaign (CFC) “Hero” Award. The award recognizes his leadership of CFC campaigns in Atlanta, Chicago, Central Maryland and Birmingham, AL. These campaigns raised more than $13 million for local, national and international charities.

He currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of United Way of Metropolitan Atlanta and has twice served as chair of the Atlanta Federal Executive board and is a member of the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, and a lifetime member of the N.A.A.C.P. and the Lane College National Alumni Association.

Troy University, headquartered in Troy, Ala., operates four campuses in Alabama and some 60 locations in 15 U.S. states and 12 countries outside the United States and one U.S. territory.