TROY honors outstanding students at the Dothan Campus

Posted: Tuesday, 23 April 2013

DOTHAN - Troy University recognized outstanding student academic achievements during the annual Dothan Campus Honors Convocation on Friday, April 19.

The ceremony was held at 6 p.m. at the Dothan Campus inside Sony Hall.

More than 40 awards were presented recognizing the top undergraduate and graduate students in the Colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Education, Communication and Fine Arts, and Health and Human Services.

The Outstanding Student Awards recognize the most outstanding undergraduate and graduate student within the academic departments in which majors are offered.

The Deans’ Awards are the highest awards in each college given to both an undergraduate and graduate student in recognition of scholastic achievement, leadership and service to the University and community.

2013 Honors Convocation Award Winners:

College of Business
- Undergraduates

  • Outstanding Finance Student: Dustin Parkman of Dothan
  • Outstanding Management Student: Katie Stokes of Enterprise
  • Outstanding Marketing Student: Katie Buie of Dothan
  • Outstanding General Business Student: Alexis Durham of Newton
  • Outstanding Accounting Student: Misty Hale of Dothan
  • Dean’s Award: Ann Benson of Enterprise, General Business

- Graduate Students

  • Outstanding MBA Accounting Student: John Hicks of Dothan
  • Outstanding MBA General Student: Daniel Powell of Marianna, Fla.
  • Outstanding HRM Student: Caitlin Faulkner of Midland City
  • Dean’s Award: Ashlee Henson of Enterprise, MBA

College of Arts and Sciences
- Undergraduates

  • Outstanding Biology Student: Brandon Smith of Daleville
  • Outstanding Applied Computer Science Student: Kimberly Lowe of Enterprise
  • Outstanding Criminal Justice Student: Julie Johnson of Headland
  • Outstanding History Student: Lisa Pandori of Newton
  • Outstanding Mathematics Student: Phillip Bennett of Dothan
  • Outstanding Social Science Student: Jordan Smith of Dothan
  • Outstanding Sociology Student: Miranda Freeman of Gordon
  • Outstanding Chemistry Student: Marrah McLain of Columbia
  • Outstanding Comprehensive General Science Student: Aselyn Gilley of Dothan
  • Dean’s Award: Carmen Daniels of Dothan, Chemistry

- Graduate Students

  • Outstanding International Relations Student: Caleb Messer of Dothan
  • Dean’s Award: Ashley Gardner of Hartford, Social Science

College of Education
- Undergraduates

  • Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student: Kara Hanson of Fort Rucker
  • Outstanding Elementary Education Student: Amber Greathouse of Dothan
  • Outstanding Elementary Education Student: Bryon Townsend of Dothan
  • Outstanding Secondary Education Student: Patrick Jones of Webb
  • Outstanding Collaborative Teacher Student: Jessica Whiddon of Headland
  • Outstanding Psychology Student: Kelli Harris of Dothan
  • Dean’s Award: Christian Griswold of Dothan, Chemistry Education

- Graduate Students

  • Outstanding Early Childhood Education Student: Shannon Cook of Cowarts
  • Elementary Education Student: April Stalling of Pinkard
  • Outstanding Collaborative Teacher (K-6) Student: Alyssa Dyer of Dothan
  • Outstanding Gifted Education Student: Sherry Chappell of Auburn
  • Outstanding Counseling and Psychology (5th) Student: Robert Sowell of Dothan
  • Outstanding Alternative Class A Elementary Student: Erin Merrill of Dothan
  • Outstanding Teacher Leadership (Ed.S.) Student: Cynthia Austin of Dothan
  • Dean’s Award: Alicia Hales of Slocumb, Psychology, Ed.S.

College of Health and Human Services

  • Outstanding Social Work Student: Valerie Hammond of Ariton
  • Outstanding RN-BSN Nursing Student: Kristi Oxley of Shalimar, Fla.
  • Dean’s Award: Joanna Hernandez of Dothan, Social Work

College of Communication and Fine Arts

  • Outstanding English Student: Donna Smith of Midland City
  • Deans Award: Bianca Spencer of Newton, English