Former ambassador to Georgia to serve at TROY

Posted: Thursday , 16 January 2014

TROY - Former U.S. Ambassador to the Republic of Georgia Kenneth Yalowitz will serve as Troy University's Ambassador-in-Residence this spring, and will give a public address on Jan. 30.

A Woodrow Wilson Visiting Fellow, Yalowitz served as ambassador to Georgia from 1997-2001, and was ambassador to the Republic of Belarus from 1994-1997. During his service in Georgia, he was recognized by the State Department for his efforts to prevent the spread of the Chechen war into Georgia.

"Ambassador Yalowitz's experience in Georgia led to his selection as this year's ambassador-in-residence primarily because of the University's new partnership with the Georgia Institute of Public Affairs. His unique perspectives will give our students a first-hand look at how the former Soviet bloc state operates in a new geopolitical climate," said Dr. Jim Rinehart, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

In addition to his ambassadorial posts, Yalowitz served in the U.S. Foreign Service in The Hague, twice in Moscow, and the U.S. Mission to NATO in Brussels. He has been country director for Australia-New Zealand Affairs, Deputy Director for Economics in the Office of Soviet Union Affairs, and a Congressional Foreign Affairs Fellow.

He won the State Department's Superior Honor Award for his coordination of the interagency U.S. response to the 1983 Soviet shooting down of flight KAL 007, and was awarded the Department's Frasure Award for his work in Georgia.

Currently director of the John Sloan Dickey Center for international Understanding at Dartmouth College, Yalowitz taught political science at Georgetown University, was diplomat-in-residence at American University and served on the Institutional Review Board of the National Cancer Institute.

He will be in residence at TROY Jan. 27-31. His public address on Jan. 30 will be from 4 – 5 p.m. in Hawkins Hall room 122. It is free and open to the public.

The University's Ambassador-in-Residence program began in 2008 and has included former ambassadors Sichan Siv (United Nations), J. Gary Cooper (Jamaica), Kurt Volker (NATO), Jenonne Walker (Czech Republic), and David Dunford (Oman).