Dr. Diane Orlofsky receives Troy University's Malone Award

Posted: Thursday, 21 August 2014

TROY – Dr. Diane Orlofsky, professor in the John M. Long School of Music at Troy University, has been awarded the Wallace D. Malone, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award.

Dr. Orlofsky, who joined the TROY faculty in 1986 as an assistant professor of music and music education, was presented the award by Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Chancellor, and Dr. Earl Ingram, Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, during the University's annual Faculty/Staff Convocation on Aug. 8, at the Troy Campus.

The award consists of a $1,500 cash prize and a medallion to be worn with academic regalia. The award is made possible through a $100,000 endowment by the SouthTrust Corporation. Wallace Malone, former chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer of SouthTrust, served as a TROY trustee from 1975-1995.

"I am honored and humbled to be the 2014-15 recipient of the Wallace D. Malone Distinguished Faculty award," Dr. Orlofsky said. "As I begin year 29 at Troy University, I can honestly say that I am as enthusiastic about preparing the next generation of music educators today as I was in 1986 when I began. Working with these college students is a privilege; helping to mold them into the leaders of tomorrow is a rewarding, fulfilling, and invigorating way to spend my life. My motto this year is 'Excellence in Effort - Integrity in Conduct.' I hope that I will continue to uphold the tenets of this award which recognizes scholarship, leadership and service as I work with my students."

Dr. Orlofsky conducts the University's Concert Chorale and frequency, TROY's vocal jazz ensemble. Under her direction, the ensembles have been selected to perform in January at the Alabama Music Educators Association's In-Service Conference.

An experienced choral conductor and music educator, Dr. Orlofsky has published many articles on teacher education and keyboard training in publications such as "Choral Director," "The Delta Kappa Gamma Bulletin," "Ala Breve," "Music Educators Journal" and many more. Her book, "Redefining Teacher Education: The Theories of Jerome Bruner and the Practice of Training Teachers" was published by Peter Lang Publishing, and she is currently working on the book, "The Joyous Exchange: Meditations on the Choral Arts." Her research, "Interpreting and Applying Common Core Standards to the Teaching of Jazz," has been selected for presentation to the Jazz Educators Network's 6th annual conference in San Diego, Calif. in January.

Dr. Orlofsky is an active clinician, conductor, and researcher and has held numerous national and regional positions of leadership in professional organizations. She currently serves as repertoire and standards chair for the Alabama chapter of the American Choral Directors Association (ACDA) and as a member of the Alabama ACDA Board. She is a member of the Troy University/Troy City Schools Partnership Committee and is involved in Music Educators National Conference, American Choral Directors Association, Jazz Educators Network, College Music Society, Association of Teacher Educators, and the American Association of University Women.

Dr. Orlofsky is a past recipient of Troy University's Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching, the Phi Kappa Phi Distinguished Scholar award, the Wright State University Music Alumni of the Year award, the A.A.T.E. Outstanding Teacher Educator Award and was named an American Fellow in 1997 by the American Association of University Women.

Prior to joining the Troy University faculty, Dr. Orlofsky served as a graduate teaching assistant at Florida State University from 1983 to 1986, and vocal music director and music teacher at schools in Springfield, Ohio from 1979-1982. She holds a bachelor's degree from Cedarville College, a master's degree from Wright State University and a Ph.D. from Florida State University.

Dr. Orlofsky and her husband, Michael, who is a member of the University's English faculty, reside in Troy.

Dr. Diane Orlofsky

Dr. Diane Orlofsky, professor in the John M. Long School of Music, is presented with the 2014 Wallace D. Malone, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award during the University's annual Faculty/Staff Convocation on the Troy Campus on Aug. 8. From left to right, are: Dr. Jack Hawkins, Jr., Chancellor; Dr. Orlofsky; Dr. Earl Ingram, Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs; and, Dr. Dionne Rosser-Mims, associate professor in the College of Education and the 2013 Malone Award recipient.