Troy University set to host MathFest 2015 on April 11

Posted: Friday, 10 April 2015

TROY - Troy University's Department of Mathematics will play host to the ninth annual TROY MathFest, a one-day conference for undergraduate students to share their research, on April 11.

Students from TROY will be joined with others from the University of Montevallo, Birmingham Southern College, the University of West Florida, the University of Georgia, Samford University and Huntingdon College to present on areas such as mathematics, mathematics education and the history of mathematics. The conference will take place in Hawkins Hall on the Troy Campus.

"The purpose of the conference is to provide mathematics students an opportunity to showcase the results of their research and projects at a regional mathematics conference," said Dr. Diane Porter, chair of the Department of Mathematics and director of TROY MathFest 2015. "It also gives students attending the conference an opportunity to expand their knowledge about a wide range of mathematics topics and meet other mathematics students from other schools."

This event has been made possible by a National Science Foundation grant through the Mathematical Association of America as part of the Regional Undergraduate Conferences program. It is also an initiative of TROY University's Department of Mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences, with the support of the Office of Sponsored Programs.

Highlights of MathFest include a Calculus Competition with prizes. Also nationally renowned mathematician, Dr. Chris Rodger, the Don Logan Endowed Chair in Mathematics at Auburn University, will speak on "Amalgamations and Hamilton Decompositions."

Rodger serves on the editorial boards of The Journal of Combinatorial Designs, The International Journal of Combinatoric, The Australasian Journal of Combinatorics, The International Journal of Mathematics and Computer Science, among others. He has published two books and had more than 170 research papers published or accepted for publishing.

Conference registration will begin at 7:45 a.m. followed by the opening session at 8:15 a.m. in Hawkins Hall room 122. For more information please contact Diane Porter at or (334) 670-3406.