TROY’s Orlofsky to receive Alabama Music Educators Association’s Outstanding Music Educator Award

Posted: Wednesday, 20 January 2016

TROY - Dr. Diane D. Orlofsky, professor of music and director of choirs in Troy University's John M. Long School of Music, has been selected to receive the 2016 Outstanding Educator Award from the Alabama Music Educators Association (AMEA).

Dr. Orlofsky will receive the award during the annual AMEA In-Service Conference at 10:30 a.m., Jan. 22, in the Montgomery Performing Arts Center at the Renaissance Montgomery Hotel.

Dr. Orlofsky, in her 30th year at Troy University, currently serves on the Alabama ACDA Board as the state Repertoire and Standards chair for Vocal Jazz and is also active in the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), the Jazz Education Network, the Alabama Music Education Association, Phi Kappa Phi and the American Association of University Women.

An active choral clinician and researcher, Dr. Orlofsky’s articles have appeared in the Ala Breve, the Music Educators Journal, the Journal of Research in Music Education, The National Forum, Contributions to Music Education, Teaching Music, Piano Pedagogy Forum, Clavier, Bulletin of Research in Music Education, Choral Director, The Reprise and The Delta Kappa Gamma Bulletin: International Journal for Professional Educators. She was named an American Fellow by the American Association of University Women in 1996-1997 for her groundbreaking research on Jerome Bruner, learning theory and teacher preparation (Redefining Teacher Education: The Theories of Jerome Bruner and the Practice of Training Teachers, 2002, Peter Lang Publishing).

She has also received numerous awards for teaching, scholarship and service, including Troy University's Wallace D. Malone, Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award (2014), the Wright State University Department of Music Outstanding Alumni Award (2003), the Phi Kappa Phi Distinguished Scholar award (1997), Troy University's Ingalls Award for Excellence in Classroom Teaching (1993), The Alabama Association of Teacher Educators Outstanding Teacher Educator Award (1991), and The Teacher of Excellence Award from Mortar Board.

Dr. Orlofsky has earned music education degrees from Cedarville University, Wright State University and Florida State University.

The Alabama Music Educators Association (AMEA), a federated state affiliate of the National Association for Music Education (NAfME), promotes the advancement of music education through professional development, curricular support and advocacy. AMEA includes band, vocal, choral, collegiate, elementary, general, and higher education music educators in the state.

Dr. Orlofsky

Dr. Diane D. Orlofsky