Troy University wins 12 Southeast Journalism Conference awards

Posted: Thursday, 25 February 2016

TROY - Troy University students recently took home 12 awards from the Southeast Journalism Conference "Best of the South" competition.

The awards, handed out at the annual SEJC Convention in Clarksville, Tenn., were the most TROY has ever won at a single SEJC convention and included three first-place finishes.

"This was the best SEJC year ever for TROY," said Dr. Jeff Spurlock, director of the Hall School of Journalism and Communication. “It just says mountains about our program and our students. Showing we have among the best students in the South is a testament to our fantastic program. We have a wonderful faculty, wonderful staff and just the best students in the world. I can't be happier."

Spurlock said the awards prove that the Hall School is growing and flourishing.

TROY's awards were:

  • 1st Place: Best College Video News Program—Trojan Vision News
  • 1st Place: Best Radio Journalist—David Caddell
  • 1st Place: Best On-Site Television News Anchor—Jordyn Elston
  • 2nd Place: Best College Television Station
  • 2nd Place: Best Television Journalist—Ryan Renfrow
  • 4th Place: Best Hard News Television Reporter—Haley Greathouse
  • 4th Place: College Journalist of the Year—Grishma Rimal
  • 4th Place: Best News Editorial Artist/Illustrator—Seth Nicholson
  • 5th Place: Best News Graphic Designer—Taylor Bowser
  • 8th Place: Best College Newspaper—The Tropolitan
  • 9th Place: Best Sports Writer—Michael Shipman
  • 10th Place: Best Feature Writer—Tori Roper