Congressman John Lewis Leadership Conference | Troy University

Congressman John Lewis Leadership Conference

Lewis speaking at conference

John Robert Lewis Leadership Conference

The John Robert Lewis Leadership Conference, formerly known as the Troy University’s Leadership Conference Celebrating African-American History Month is held annually on the main campus of Troy University. This conference provides valuable information to enhance the quality of leadership and civic participation of community leaders, area residents and University students. Major sponsors of the conference since its inception have been the City of Troy and the SD James Evangelistic Association.

The 2024 conference will be held on  February 2-3, 2024  and we will be celebrating our 21st anniversary.  Registration will open December 1, 2023. We are thankful for our many friends and supporters and look forward to seeing you in 2024. 

Group of conference participants on stage 
Conference committee with keynote speaker Mrs. Peggy Wallace Kennedy 
Catherine Jordan, Mrs. Peggy Wallace Kennedy, Sheila Jackson 
Conference committee with keynote speaker Mary Frances Berry 
 Joe McCall introducing keynote speaker Mary Frances Berry 
Keynote speaker Mary Frances Berry speaking  
Keynote speaker Mrs. Peggy Kennedy Wallace speaking 

In addition to valuable breakout sessions for both University students and community participants, we have outstanding keynote speakers. Past speakers have included Dr. Dorothy Buckhanan Wilson, Dr. Mary Frances Berry, Mrs. Peggy Wallace Kennedy, the Rev. Dr. Raphael Warnock, Dr. Quinton Ross, Congressman John Lewis, Congresswoman Terri Sewell, Rickey Smiley, Bishop James Davis, Juanita Jones Abernathy, Jasmine Guy, Hill Harper, U.S. Navy Rear Admiral Fernandez “Frank” Ponds, the Rev. Bernice King, Judge Penny Brown Reynolds, Dr. Randal Pinkett, the Rev. Dr. Raphael Warnock, Bishop Vashti M. McKenzie, Dr. Calvin Mackie, Ms. Lyn Vaughn, Mr. Tim Reid, Judge Greg Mathis, Ambassador Andrew Young, Dr. Joseph Lowery, Dr. Belle Wheelan, Mr. Thomas N. Todd, the Honorable Lois DeBerry, columnist Cynthia Tucker, former Birmingham Mayor Richard Arrington, Rev. Jamal-Harrison Bryant, Larry D. Thornton, Sr. and Pastor Daryll Caldwell. 

 Mary Griffin with John Lewis

Ms. Mary Griffin and the late Rep. John Robert Lewis 

Each year the committee selects a new chairperson. Mr. Shelby Tuck is serving as the 2023 conference chair.

Mission Statement:

To bring individuals together to promote dialogue that fosters multicultural collaboration to strengthen relationships and empower diverse leaders with the tools to better serve their organization and community.

Cookie Acknowledgment
This website uses cookies to collect information and to improve your browsing experience. Please review our privacy statement for more information.