ACCESS

ACCESS

ACCESS Virtual Learning Logo

About ACCESS

ACCESS Virtual Learning (Alabama Connecting Classrooms, Educators and Students Statewide), is an initiative of the Alabama Department of Education.  Its primary goal is to provide high quality instruction and improve student achievement through virtual learning opportunities. With over 120 classes offered, ACCESS provides the entire high school curriculum at no cost to Alabama public schools. There are 30,000 students across the state of Alabama who are currently taking classes through ACCESS.

Goal

The goal of ACCESS Virtual Learning is to create equity by offering digital distance educational opportunities to all Alabama public high school students.

Mission

The mission of ACCESS Virtual Learning is to provide an infrastructure that delivers equitable, quality learning opportunities for all citizens.

Vision

The State of Alabama provides equal access to high-quality instruction to improve student achievement through distance learning.

 

Flyer describing an online tutoring option for ACCESS Students

 

Counselors

Learn More

Facilitators

Learn More

Administrators

Learn More

Teachers

Learn More

Parents/Students

Learn More

 

History

In 2004. Governor Bob Riley created a task force to address issues regarding rural public schools who were not being able to hire additional teachers in order to offer more electives. The solution was to create a virtual learning environment that blended traditional and online/video conferencing resources. The outcome of this task force later created  ACCESS (Alabama Connecting Classrooms, Educators, and Students Statewide). The program was broken into three regional support centers (supervised by ALSDE in Montgomery, AL) to hire, train, evaluate, and support ACCESS teachers as well as be support outlet for schools utilizing the program. The three support centers were divided by the northern, central, and southern regions of the state and housed in Madison City Schools, University of Alabama and Troy University. 

Staff

Casey Mack

Casey Mack

Director
334-808-6226
cbmack@troy.edu

Jason Clifford

Jason Clifford

Associate Director of Educational Technology
334-808-6491
jaclifford@troy.edu

Alicia Brown

Alicia Brown

Associate Director of Academics
334-808-6231
agbrown@troy.edu

Terri Miles

Terri Miles

Associate Director of Student Services
334-670-5866
tzmiles@troy.edu

Savannah Matthews

Savannah Mathews

Assistant Director of Student Services 
334-670-5866
samathews@troy.edu

Brennan Ellis

Brennan Ellis

Evaluation & Quality Control Coordinator
334-808-6256
mellis11377@troy.edu

Latasha Ware

Latasha Ware

Evaluation & Quality Control
Coordinator 
334-808-6225
llett@troy.edu

Debbie Norton

Debbie Norton

Coordinator of Faculty
Certification & Contracts
334-670-5909
dhnorton@troy.edu

Amy Dent

Amy Dent

Project Coordinator
334-808-6393
adent@troy.edu

Hannah Remson

Hannah Remson

Marketing Coordinator 
334-808-6490
hgalloway@troy.edu

Wanda Spradley

Wanda Spradley

Scheduler/Training Coordinator
334-808-6232
wspradley@troy.edu

Jennifer Davis

Jennifer Davis 

Program Assistant
334-808-6716
jlwdavis@troy.edu

Staci Toole

Staci Toole

Success Coach
334-268-9894
stoole@troy.edu

Charles Jones

Charles Jones

VCI Coordinator
334-808-6578
cfjones@troy.edu

 Vivian Coleman

Vivian Coleman

Departmental Secretary
334-808-6323
vcoleman113068@troy.edu

 

 

Cookie Acknowledgment
This website uses cookies to collect information and to improve your browsing experience. Please review our privacy statement for more information.